Fifth State Finance Commission Formed

Bhopal. In order to prepare a policy concerning distribution of State’s taxes, charges, fee and road tax etc. for a period of five years from 2020-25, among the municipalities and panchayats of Madhya Pradesh, the 5th State Finance Commission has been constituted. The Former Minister Himmat Kothari has been nominated as Chairman of the commission.

The Former Secretary of the Union Government K.M. Acharya and Former Additional Secretary Milind Waikar have been included as members, whereas the secretary of the Finance department has been made member Secretary of the commission.

The Commission will present its recommendations before the government to bring improvement in the financial condition of the panchayat bodies and urban bodies. Besides this, the commission will also give suggestions on distribution of taxes payable on land, stamp fee and other taxes concerning revenue department between the local urban bodies and gram panchayats.

The commission has invited suggestions from the citizens, experts and non-government organizations till April 30, 2018. Suggestions can also be sent on email id Office of the 5th Finance Commission is situated at B-1 Gomantika Parisar, Jawahar Chowk, Bhopal. Phone and Fax numbers of the office are 0755-2777301, 2777141 and 0755-277301 respectively.