MNREGA’s role in doubling income of farmers significant

Delhi. The first meeting of the National Agriculture and MNREGA Committee of NITI Aayog was held in New Delhi under the chairmanship of the Committee Chairman and Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, Shivraj Singh Chouhan. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister, Adityanath Yogi, Chief Executive Officer of NITI Aayog, Amitabh Kant and officials of NITI Aayog and the States were present at the meeting. Committee Chairman Chouhan held a discussion on various issues with the chief ministers of Bihar and Gujarat state through video conferencing. Chief Ministers of West Bengal and Andhra Pradesh presented their suggestions through a letter to the committee.

Chouhan said at the meeting that the MNREGA plays a significant role in doubling the income of farmers. Discussion on sensitive issues such as reducing costs in agriculture and enhancing production and compensating for the loss of crops in inevitable circumstances is necessary. He said that workshops will be organized in different states for detailed discussion on the role of MNREGA in making agriculture a profitable business and in doubling the income of farmers. The opinions of the farmers associations and the general public will also be taken in the workshops. The first workshop of the Commission will be held in Bhopal on coming August 6. Shri Chouhan said that the workshops will be held in Lucknow, Patna, Guwahati and Hyderabad.

Chief Minister told that the committee will meet in Delhi on August 31, in which a outline of the decisions of the committee will be prepared. He said that on the basis of this draft, the committee will submit its final report to the Commission.

It may be noted that the Prime Minister Narendra Modi has constituted this committee to achieve the coordinated policy approach and recommendations on the role of MNREGA in agriculture at the national level. Chief Minister Chouhan has been nominated as the Chairman of the Committee. The committee comprises chief ministers of seven other states and the heads of concerned departments.